Terry McEachern Professional of the Year Award

The Terry McEachern Professional of the Year Award was established in 1995 by Royal Credit Union to recognize Terry McEachern, the founder and first president of the Association of Credit Union Internal Auditors. In 1989, as RCU’s internal auditor, McEachern organized a group of auditors in her area to meet and share ideas about internal auditing. She served as the association’s first president and served on the ACUARP board of directors for more than ten years.

Originally called the Auditor of the Year Award, it has been renamed and is presented to an internal auditor, compliance or risk specialist who has made a significant contribution to the internal audit and compliance profession. The recipient of this award has demonstrated personal and professional leadership in serving the industry, profession, and community.

All submissions are reviewed by a committee of credit union internal audit peers. Winners are announced at the Annual Conference business meeting.  

Nominations may be made by Supervisory and Audit Committees, Credit Union CEOs or other officials, Credit Union Internal Auditors and anyone familiar with the nominee’s qualifications. Nominees must be an ACUARP member and currently employed as a credit union internal auditor.

See the guidelines for more information about submitting a nomination for this award. Deadline for nominations is May 31 of each year.

Year Winner
2022 Dean Swenson, Wings Financial
2019 Doug Wright, Baxter CU



The Randy Manscill Excellence in Service Award

This award is presented to an individual who exemplifies the spirt and dedication of volunteer service. In 2016 this award, previously the Excellence in Service Award, was renamed to honor Randy Manscill’s lifetime of commitment to the ACUARP and the internal audit profession. As an early member of ACUARP, Randy volunteered and served in a multitude of capacities including Board Chairman, Regional Director, and Chapter Coordinator. He selflessly worked to mentor his fellow auditors. This award reflects the spirit of Randy's selfless service to ACUARP and the profession. 

The Excellence in Service Award is an award given each year to an ACUARP volunteer who exemplifies the spirit and dedication of volunteer service in going above and beyond the call of duty. The recipient of this award is selected by the ACUARP Chairman for their outstanding volunteer service for that year. This award is presented at the Annual Conference.

Year Award Winner
2022 Margaret Chamberlain, OneAZ CU
2021 Jason Alexander, LGE Community CU
2019 Tara Tocco, Hughes FCU



The Best Practice Award

A Best Audit Practice is any auditing routine/procedure/audit program step/or audit technique that you have developed that contributes to an effective audit or covers an administrative function for your department. If you or someone else thinks it’s a good idea, then share it with your fellow auditors.

The authors of the top three entries chosen as the very best of all practices submitted will receive one of three gift certificates in the amount of $100, $50 or $25, as well as a plaque to recognize your contribution.
Winners will be announced at the Annual Conference. However, you do not need to be present at the Conference to win.
The Best Practice Committee evaluates all entries.  Criteria for selecting the winner will include originality, ability to implement or use/reuse, adaptability to the credit union size, overall value to the credit union, and the value to the audit department. To submit that great idea, download the printable guidelines and entry form and send your submission to ACUARP. It may win you fame and fortune!
Year First Place Second Place Third Place
2021 No Award Presented    
2020 No Award Presented    
2019 BCU (tie-for-1st) Bayport CU (tie-for-1st) Michigan State University FCU


Pat Richey Best Article of the Year Award

In 2013, the ACUARP Board renamed this award the “Pat Richey Best Article of the Year Award” to honor Pat’s commitment to the ACUARP, the Internal Audit profession, and the internal audit standards through her countless article submissions to The Audit Report magazine.   Over the years, Pat volunteered with the ACUARP in many capacities, including as a Board member, a Regional Director, and a Chapter Coordinator, as well as mentoring fellow auditors. 

Each year the winning article is selected by the editor of the ACUIA's quarterly magazine, The Audit Report. Articles eligible for consideration include articles from both the magazine and those published on the ACUARP website. All articles from these two sources are automatically considered for this annual award. Eligibility for the award begins after the Annual Conference and ends several weeks before the subsequent conference.

The criteria used to evaluate the articles includes:

Relevance: The topic should be of current interest to the majority of credit union auditors.

Easy to read: The average/experienced internal auditor should be able to comprehend the material. Jargon and acronyms should be avoided or clearly explained, with minimum use.

Helpful: The article should be helpful to the majority of credit union auditors. The reader should be able to incorporate or use some information in their daily work or audit plan.

Application: The material is widely applicable to all credit union auditors. Differences between federal or state chartered credit unions should be defined. The award winner is announced at the Annual Conference business meeting. The winner receives a plaque and recognition in the ACUARP publications. For more information about publishing an article in The Audit Report Magazine or on the web site, contact the ACUARP office. Reprints are not eligible for Article of the Year award consideration.  

Year Winner Article
2021 No Award Presented  
2020 No Award Presented  
2019 Stephen LaBarbera Credit Union Branch Incentive Pay Plans


ACUIA Lifetime Achievement Award

Established in 2013 the ACUIA Lifetime Achievement Award was created to recognize individuals whose tireless service and commitment to the association has left an indelible mark. The award is presented periodically and is the highest honor bestowed upon an individual by ACUARP

Award Recipient

2016 Randy Manscill
2013 Patricia Richey

Regional Director Recognitions

ACUIA has grown and prospered over the years due in large part to those members who have volunteered their time and talent to serve the association.  One of the vital roles that helps create a cohesive connection between our association and members is that of Regional Director.  To recognize members whose past service as a Regional Director for at least one two-year term, they are presented with an award at the Annual Conference. 

Year Award Recipient
2011 Patricia Richey, Region 3
2010 Linda Goff, Region 6
2009 Dana McCranie, Sam Capuano, Region 5